Saturday, October 21, 2017

2017 All-State

Congratulations to the following students from Sioux City on their selection into the 2017 Iowa All-State Festival. These students auditioned Saturday, October 21st, in Storm Lake and have been accepted into one of the finest musical ensembles Iowa has to offer its high school musicians. Only 17% of those that audition actually achieve this honor. These students will be one of this year's 1,083 elite Iowa high school musicians. The concert will be held at Hilton Coliseum, on the campus of Iowa State, in Ames, Iowa on Saturday, November 18th, at 7:30 p.m.

2017 All-State Band 
East High School 
Anna Geerlings, flute II
Jessica Melville, clarinet I
Jessie Rebstock, clarinet III
Nathan Whitaker, 1st alternate baritone saxophone
Tracie Melville, 2nd alternate baritone saxophone
Amanda DeBates, trumpet I
Andrew Flory, 2nd alternate trombone
Anna Scott, Brad Anderson, and Angela Kroska, educators

North High School
Sarah Glade, clarinet II
Luella Gaskell, clarinet III
Quinn Adajar, alto saxophone II
Aidan Shorey, euphonium
Ben Gillette, string bass
Faith Hall, Austin Simon, and Amy Ortmann, educators

West High School
Jose Ayala Garcia, 1st alternate tenor saxophone
Jessica Todd, Patrick Patterson, and Katie Birch, educators

Heelan High School
John Greer, 1st alternate alto saxophone
James Kunz, educator

2017 All-State Chorus
East High School
Malea Hanson, soprano I
Sierra Gilmore, soprano I
Hannah Marshall, alto I
Miranda Navarro, alto II
Nathan Kitrell, tenor I
Juan Gomez, tenor II
Cameron Jensen, bass I
Alex Melville, bass I
Anthony Anderson, bass II
Tom Hales and Sydney Mc Coy, educators

North High School
Kari Swanson, soprano I
Ciara Hess, alto I
Autumn McClain, alto II
Quinn Kimbell, tenor II
Andrew Stoneking and Chris Hanson, educators
Heelan High School
Allison Bermel, soprano I
Foster Johnson, soprano II 
Kate Gill, alto I
Claire Brobst, alto II
Megan Janssen, alto II
Anna Mullins, alternate alto II
Erick Danner, tenor I
Tanner Summerville, alternate tenor I
Ben Murphy, tenor II
Christian Krogh, bass I
Eric Lohr, bass I
John Paul Keane, bass II
Miles Patton, bass II
Rachael Wragge and John Flanery, educators

2017 All-State Orchestra
East High School
Lauren Geerlings, violin II
Leai Britton, viola
Jestin Cam, 1st alternate viola
Bridget Carpenter, clarinet
Eleanor May-Patterson, educator

North High School
Robert Hwang, violin I
Jackie Toben, violin II
Alex Julius, string bass
Kayla Priest, educator

Tickets will go on sale through Ticketmaster October 24th at 10:00 AM. All seats are reserved at $22.00 plus fees. To order tickets by phone: 1-800-745-3000, online: in person: available at all Iowa Ticketmaster outlets. Ticketmaster will charge a "per ticket" fee and accepts only Mastercard, Visa, American Express, or Discover.

Sunday, October 15, 2017

OPUS Honor Choirs 2017

Congratulations to the following students and their directors 
for being selected to participate in the 
2017 Opus Honor Choir Festival. 

- East Middle - 
Director Mrs. Abby Leusink-Sheppard 
Mackenzie Crawford, Soprano, Fifth-Sixth Grade Select Honor Choir
Connor Maeng, Bass, Seventh-Eighth Grade Select Bass Clef Honor Choir

- East High -
Directors Ms. Sydney Mc Coy and Mr. Tom Hales
Max Braunstein, Bass, Ninth Grade Select Mixed Honor Choir
Anna Marburger, Soprano, Ninth Grade Select Mixed Honor Choir 
Emma Snyder, Alto 2, Ninth Grade Select Mixed Honor Choir
Carter Vanderloo, Tenor, Ninth Grade Select Mixed Honor Choir

-North Middle - 
Director Mr. Chris Miller
Mara Aesoph, Alto 2, Seventh-Eighth Grade Select Treble Clef Honor Choir
Keera Adajar, Alto 1, Seventh-Eighth Grade Select Treble Clef Honor Choir
Michael Toben, Tenor 1, Seventh-Eighth Grade Select Bass Clef Honor Choir

-West Middle - 
Director Ms. Jill Wigton
Antonio Ferraro, Baritone, Seventh-Eighth Grade Select Bass Clef Honor Choir


Over 3,000 students auditioned for 720 positions in the four Opus Honor Choirs. The 2017 OPUS Honor Choirs will perform at 4:00 p.m. November 16th in C.Y. Stephens Auditorium in the Iowa State Center in Ames. The Opus Honor Choir Festival is made possible by the Iowa Choral Directors Association, Inc.

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Students Selected by Audition for 2017 NWIBA JH Honor Band Festival

Congratulations to the following students for being selected to the 2017 NWIBA JH Honor Band Festival.  These students will rehearse with other students from Northwest Iowa and perform a final concert on Saturday, November 4th at 6:00 pm in Storm Lake, Iowa.

East Middle School
Angela Kroska, Anna Scott, and Brad Anderson
Tiahna Grady,  Flute, 8th grade
Faith TenHulzen, Flute, 8th grade
Joseph Hansen, Trumpet, 8th grade
Joseph DeBates, Trombone, 7th grade 

North Middle School
Amy Ortmann, Faith Hall, and Austin Simon
Keera Adajar, Oboe, 7th grade
Gretchen Hoffman, Bassoon, 7th grade
Ian Julius, Alto Sax, 7th grade
Brecken Baller, Bari Sax, 8th grade
Isaac Travis, Trumpet, 8th grade
Megan Kopp, Trombone, 8th grade
Michael Toben, Tuba, 7th grade

 West Middle School
Katelyn Birch, Jessica Todd, and Patrick Patterson 
Marin Frazee, Clarinet, 7th grade
Gisselle Ayala Garcia, Clarinet, 8th grade
 Anh Nguyen, Clarinet, 7th grade
Abigail Hammer, Trumpet, 7th grade
Elias Vargas, Trombone, 8th grade
Iris Engelhardt, String Bass, 8th grade